Making Life Remarkable

"Big things from little ideas grow" ...

Image via Wikipedia

What do you want to do this year to make your life remarkable?

Goals and aspirations are a plenty, but how do you simmer them all down to that concentrated collection that will add all of the flavour and zing to your life?

I’ve been racking my brain trying to figure out just what my resolutions for 2012 will be. So far this is what I’ve come up with in a somewhat, but not necessarily, particular order:

Goals for 2012:

  1. Get 8.5 hours of sleep a night
  2. Get in shape & honour my body
  3. Save some money/ Make some money
  4. Learn to speak French
  5. Read a book a month
  6. Write
  7. Figure out all the shit in my head & see a therapist
  8. Become a better, more skilled Photographer
  9. Push my body to master a challenge
  10. Travel
  11. Have another art exhibition & be part of shows
  12. Volunteer my time

But then I though about categorizing these goals into more general terms – into “Big Ideas” so to speak.  I know that when teaching, the curriculum is often divided into “big ideas” to help lead to a greater connection and understanding of the subject matter.  And while this further categorization would somehow seem to make the resolutions too general, they in some way serve as anchor points or guiding lights.

The “Big Ideas”:

Spiritually – Connect: With others and God
Physically – Move: Honour my body and abilities by achieving new challenges
Mentally – Understand: Learn new things & understand old things more deeply
Emotionally – Heal: Release my regrets and forgive myself
Financially – Organize: Get my books in order, because $ makes the world go round – and it’s not going away any time soon!
 

So, here it goes with the 1st goal:  Get 8.5 hours of sleep a night

Who: My remarkable self

What: Get 8.5 hours of sleep a night, minimum 6 nights a week

Where: Sleeping on my bed only (No falling asleep on the couch watching T.V.)

When: 3 weeeks (21 days) to build the health habit

Which: Counting backwards 8.5 hours from my wake-up time; washing up and reading 20 minutes before bed time

Why: So that I can reset my internal clocks, balance my hormones and feel better with more energy!

Resources helping me with this: wikipedia.org, psychologytoday.com & National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

Leave a comment